top of page

SAMR & Creativity!

What is SAMR and Why should I use it?

The SAMR Model is an excellent tool for self-reflection. There is no multiple choice test, no domains, just a quick way to check your technology use.

Teacher Reflection: Am I using technology to transform learning in the classroom?

The creator of SAMR, Ruben Puentedura is pretty amazing at explaining why he developed this model to evaluate technology use in the classroom. Please see the video below!

Ruben's video coupled with some really great PD sessions allowed me to really reflect on my own teaching practices and the apps I was using for creativity.

SAMR From My Perspective

**WARNING** I am not an expert! I am just a classroom teacher reflecting on my own learning! I keep arguing with myself over some of these classifications! I am happy to hear your thoughts!

I drew the images above to help represent each of the levels of SAMR! Below I explain why I chose the images that I did and how I thought through the process.

SUBSTITUTION: I chose to draw a note pad to represent notes on the iPad. In the classroom, you would use this app exactly like you would a piece of paper. There is little to no learning improvement by just taking notes digitally.

AUGMENTATION: I drew a collaborative document because it is has some functional improvement. I do not know what I would do without Google Docs now that I have it. The collaborative feature is really nice! When used in the classroom it is a great enhancement, but is not transforming the learning.

MODIFICATION: I decided to use an iBook. Creating an iBook with your class brings completely new elements that would not be possible without technology. Creating an iBook requires lots of different student led tasks. Some of these tasks include; creating content to share, doing research, determining importance of content, and collaboration with peers and experts. Creating an iBook transforms the learning by allowing the students to be creators of their content.

REDEFINITION: I focused to the world because, at this point it is about using apps from all levels and connecting with others globally to learn in ways never thought possible. Let's say first, the students took notes on the iPad about animal habitats while reading and doing research. Then, they determined which content to share with their group using Google Docs. Together, the group makes comments and share with their teachers and a field expert. They begin to create their section of the iBook that their class is creating. Finally, once the book is finished the class lists the book for sale in the iTunes store. They share their iBook to their class Twitter and begin to create advertisements for the book. They are excited because all of the funds earned will be donated to the World Wildlife Fund to protect endangered animal habitats. In this example, the learning becomes connected to a real life problem, and the students are given the opportunity to make a difference in the world.

Creation Apps and SAMR

I wanted to think about the apps I was using currently in the classroom and classify them into each level. There is so much discussion I could share about each one. There are many I have moved several times.

You Try: Think about the apps you are using and where they fall. Do you have some in each category?

In Summary

Creating authentic learning with technology does not mean you need a ton of showy apps. It just means that you are using technology to remove those physical barriers. Your students are now able to research and connect with others in a way we never imagined. How do we assess their work? Why not look to the world? Their book sales may be a great way to assess their work! What feedback can we ask from buyers to make improvements? The lesson has so much potential!

Here is the presentation that I shared with colleagues. Click on the Image to view the presentation in Google Slides.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page